# POST OAK SAVANNAH GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT Groundwater Management Area 12 Stakeholder Meeting Milano Community and Civic Center 120 West Avenue E Milano, Texas 76556 October 30, 2008 – 10:00 a.m.

#### Present

Nathan Ausley Garv Westbrook Wayne Wilson **Brenner Brown** David VanDresar **Ridge Kaiser** Steve Young Elaine Gerren Monique Norman **Dwight Mahoney** Glen Marburger James Beach **Ross Cummings** Dan Opoyke Kodi E. Sawin Dr. Keir Laura Marbury Steve Box **Dwayne Jekel** Andy Hovorak Ralph Crum Katie Kaighin Mike Thornhill Kit Worlev **Bob Barrie** Curtis Chubb **Ridge Kaiser** Lee Alford Scott Carlson **Bill Graham Russell Johnson** Joe Cooper Keith Hansberger Alice Darnell Fred A. Surovek, Sr. Matt Uliana Monroe Carter Linda McBride Harold Arrington Davis III Frank Limmer Frank Summers Rosa Taylor Harold Biscamp D.F. Kubelka Pete Gibson Ron Freeman John Burke **Claude Spence** 

#### MINUTES Entity

POSGCD POSGCD BVGWCD TWDB Fayette County GCD R. W. Hardin URS POSGCD Brazos Valley Groundwa BRA

Brazos Valley Groundwater Conservation District BRA Lost Pines GCD LBG-Guyton Associates Blue Water TPWD Water Texas Mid-East Texas GCD **Environmental Defense Fund Environmental Stewardship** POSGCD POSGCD BVGCD LPGCD Thornhill Group, Inc. Southwest Milam WSC **BVWA** The Cameron Herald **RW Hardin** POSGCD Metropolitan Water Co. L.P. Landowner McGinnis, Lockridge & Kilgore LPGCD LPGCD LPGCD POSGCD Land Owner & City of College Station Mid East Texas GCD Consultant Self Self Self End OP LP Milam County Robertson Self **Burleson County** Milam Blue Water System LP Aqua Water Brazos

**Beverly Terry** David Dunn Antonio E. Cantu Randy Holly Narciso S. Lopez Mike Keester James Lyerly Paul Terrill James Miller Pavl Myers Bill R. Hall Philip M. Blair James H. Johnson Harrian Murphy Gene Baumann Johnnie Dearman Elmer J. Dearman Eldon Ball Garland & Helen Winningham Nell McMinn **Dale Jaecks** Jayson Barfknecht Dave Coleman Ken Hall **Jimmie Jenkins** Garry Brown Judith matula Pud Owens Carelon Steptae **Connie Briyance** Jennifer Walker Jack Pardee Earl W. Schrobek **Barney Knight** Charles Hooper Arthur Sullens **Bill Lightsey** Gary Lightsey Randy Leo Halryon Sadberry Waltrim Oliver SAdberrv Gordon McGee Jimmy Morton Bill Knox Henry Bonorden Roy Hefti Ann Mesrobian Karl Westbrook

Self HDR/College Station/Bryan/TAMU Self City of Rockdale Brazos Thornhill Group, Inc. (End Op) Self The Terrill Farm/Blue Water City of Bastrop Rockdale Landowner Brazos Valley Water Alliance LP Landowner Landowner Landowner Landowner Landowner Milano WSC Landowner Landowner Milam County Commissioner City of Vryan City of College Station/BVGCD Southwest Milam Water Self Lee County Landowner Landowner Landowner Milam County Milam County Sierra Club, Lone Star Chapter Self Self POSGCD Milam County Milam County Crazos County Robertson County Milam County Berry Hill Farm **Burleson County Brazos Countv** Birch Creek Rec., Inc. Burleson County Milam County Milam County Brazos County Lost Pines GCD Milano WSC

# 1. Welcome and Introductions

Called meeting to order at 10:08 a.m. The meeting was chaired by Nathan Ausley, President of the Board of POSGCD. There was an introduction of all consultants of GCD's. Their name and affiliations were recognized.

2. Minutes of the August 28, 2008 GMA 12 meeting The minutes of August 28, 2008 were approved as written.

### 3. Received Stakeholder Comment

Gary Westbrook, General Manager for Post Oak Savannah GCD gave a brief report on the results of the POSGCD stakeholder's meeting of September 3, 2008.

Public comment was heard from Dave Coleman of the City of College Station. A presentation was given by David Dunn with HDR Engineers concerning the Impact of large Groundwater withdrawals on the Economies of Brazos and Robertson Counties. Questions and comment were heard from the attendees. There were questions about this presentation from several attendees.

A presentation was heard from Dan Opdyke with the Texas Parks & Wildlife regarding the Desired Future Conditions with respect to impact on surface water flows.

John Burk, General Manager of Aqua Water in Bastrop County voiced concerns that were expressed in the Summary of Comments presented at the meeting.

Steve Box with the Environmental Stewardship gave a presentation and handout on Groundwater & Surface Water Crossroads with emphasis on environmental and clean water protection

Frank Limer, Russ Johnson. Mike Thornhill and Stacey Reeves representing End Ops, LP, expressed concern over landowner property rights and how DFC's adopted by the GMA 12 would affect those rights. Presentations and handout was given by Mike Thornhill. Russ Johnson also stated that he represented the Brazos Valley Water Alliance and his comments were the same for both parties. There were questions about this presentation from several attendees

Ridge Kaiser with Blue Water System LP, President of R.W. Hardin & Associates recommend that the GMA 12 revise the GAM Model and to look at mitigation and filed written comment with the GMA.

Laura Marbury with the Environmental Defense Fund gave a handout on the Texas Living Waters Project concerning sound management and planning for our water resources.

Ron Freeman and Paul Terrell with Blue Water Systems, LP presented comment for the protection of Landowner rights.

### 4. Discuss Agenda items for next meeting

After brief discussion it was decided that final agenda items would be set at a later date.

#### 5. Set date, time, and place of next meeting

Tentatively scheduled meeting will be November 17, 2008 at the Community Center in Milano, Texas at 10:00 a.m.

## 6. Public Comment

General Manager, Gary Westbrook asked if anyone else would like to comment. No one responded. Nathan Ausley asked if anyone else would like to address the meeting. No one responded.

### 7. Closing Comments

No closing comments were made

### 8. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 12:25 p.m.

A copy of all presentations from this meeting are attached and available.

THE ABOVE IS THE MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE GROUNDWATER MANAGEMENT AREA 12 HELD ON OCTOBER 30, 2008

Nathan Ausley, Presiding Officer